It’s that time again…

I have a tag from Nita, which reminded me that I had been meaning to get around to a tag from darkentries. So, it’s meme time.

The first tag, from darkentries: Think of THE song that most inspires you to write, whether it gives you an idea for a story, script or just puts you into a better frame of mind AND/OR peek into the lyrics and find a verse that sums up the theme of whatever project it is you’re working on. If possible, post a video of the song to convey to readers the full context of the song and the mood it puts you into. Finally, send the assignment to five other writers to do as well.

This is not my favourite classical piece, but it is the song which most inspires me to write, or be creative in any way. It creates opposition in a way that is hard to verbalize. For me this piece is both painful and joyful. It captures a beautiful tension that underpins my creative endeavours. I think this, of all Schubert’s pieces, exemplifies his tenuous relationship with his art.

The second tag, from Nita: Answer the following

1. Last movie you saw in a theater?
Curse of the Golden Flower, I think. It has been a while. It has been a while since I have even seen a movie theatre.

2. What book are you reading?
None (I know, I know). But, I read all day. So, technically…I am currently reading the McKinsey 2008 CEO Software Survey. But, that is not what the question is after.

3. Favorite board game?
Monopoly, but only if I can be the banker…because I cheat. I have been known to slip myself an orange bill or two. It’s only fun if you win, right? Right?

4. Favorite magazine?
W, I am clothes whore. An intelligent, creative, some might say insightful clothes whore. But, at the end of the day – still a clothes whore.

5. Favorite smells?

Dolce and Gabbanna Light Blue ala ‘M’

Pikake

6. Favorite sounds?

My daughter’s laugh

The way my mom and dad say “we miss you”

The river behind my house

7. Worst feeling in the world?

I am with Nita on this one, being betrayed.

8. What is the first thing you think of when you wake up?

It varies, but it is usually something along the lines of…

Christ it is bright in this room, or

My breathe stinks, or

Do I have to get up today?

9. Favorite fast food place?

I have forgotten, we do not have fast food here. I did like myself some Taco Bell back in the day.

10. Future child’s name?

Ditto to Nita again, although I only have one.

11. Finish this statement. “If I had lot of money I’d….?

Travel – and give a whole lot of it away. It’s cliche, but there really is nothing like the feeling you get when you make someone else’s dream come true. Well, except making your own – but that is why travel is first.

12. Do you sleep with a stuffed animal?

Um, no.

13. Storms – cool or scary?

Very, very cool. Especially when I am sleeping.

14. Favorite drink?

A nice full-bodied red wine.

15. Finish this statement, “If I had the time I would….”?

This is going to sound…well…stupid. But the honest answer is that I can’t answer this question. I make the time to do what I want.

16. Do you eat the stems on broccoli?

Yes, they have a great texture

17. If you could dye your hair any color, what would be your choice?

My natural colour.

18. Name all the different cities/towns you’ve lived in?

The list is too long, and I could not post it here, even if I could remember. Those of you who had access to my little ‘get to know me’ post might remember why. In any case, I have lived all over the place.

19. Favorite sports to watch?

None.

20. One nice thing about the person who sent this to you?

Nita is insightful, intelligent, funny, open-minded. Also, a great writer…O.K. that is more than one. But, the biggest thing for me is that she makes me think. Not many people do.

21. What’s under your bed?

I’m pretty sure there are some shoes under there. Well, I hope there are.

22. Would you like to be born as yourself again?

Of course, but only if I was an exotic princess who was waited on hand and foot every day.

23. Morning person, or night owl?

Night owl.

24. Over easy, or sunny side up?

Sunny side up

25. Favorite place to relax?

The beach

26. Favorite pie?

Blueberry

27. Favorite ice cream flavor?

Mexican Vanilla

28. Of all the people you tagged this to, who’s most likely to respond first?

I have no idea…

O.K., so tagging others. Hm…

For the first assignment:

Nita, Mahendra, PA, Gabe

For the second assignment:
Chimp, Mahendra, PA, darkentries

~ by aikaterine on May 1, 2008.

7 Responses to “It’s that time again…”

  1. Thanks for doing the meme. I was kind of hoping to get you out here on your blog! I know that being off the blog meant that you are having lots of fun and a better time than just writing a blog, but well, I was kind of missing you!
    Lots of interesting stuff there, what you said. Blueberry pie…never tasted one! Nor have I tasted Mexican Vanilla icecream!
    And hey thanks for the nice things you said. :)

  2. Also, thats a wonderful tag…however I shall need a little time as there are too many songs which are springing to my mind.
    Thanks for the tag.

  3. Sorry for a third comment…but wanted to tell you that its hard to find your most recent post. Can you put up a recent posts widget somewhere?

  4. I am honoured that you missed me. It sounds corny, but it’s true. I changed ‘musings’ on the top right to ‘recent musings’. This theme is not very intuitive, but I like the dark. Hope it helps.

    Blueberry pie is to die for, tart but sweet. I should send you some Mexican vanilla. I think you have my email, send me your address and I will send some your way. Of course, you would need to make your own ice cream, but still.

    Take care

  5. […] song which inspires – a tag Posted on May 5, 2008 by Nita Aikaterine tagged me for a writer’s tag. She said: Think of THE song that most inspires you to write, whether it […]

  6. […] song which inspires – a tag Posted on May 7, 2008 by Nita Aikaterine tagged me for a writer’s tag. She said: Think of THE song that most inspires you to write, whether it […]

  7. […] me for this meme about music, and how it inspires us to write. Here is the original meme from forgetting myself: Think of THE song that most inspires you to write, whether it gives you an idea for a story, script […]

Leave a Reply

 
