is that an ipod in your sari…

So, I have a love affair with the sari. I mean, they are gorgeous and comfortable and…well…gorgeous. I wear them often. While looking for a new one I came across this:

 

Is that an ipod pocket in her sari? Why yes, yes it is. And why is this weird? Certainly the sari should not fall behind technology. But do I really want to see a camo-sari in the next few years? A sari with built in pockets for my car keys, i-phone, a makeup kit maybe. Is that where this is headed? I hope not. Admittedly, I don’t have a drop of Indian blood in my body but I will traipse around the world in a sari like I came out of the womb wearing it. If a Greek-American can do that, maybe they are not so…sacrosanct.

Still, I can’t place my finger on it, it just looks…wrong. Like everything I ever believed about the sari is being violated.

Why oh why is the ipod pocket causing an existential crisis?

~ by aikaterine on August 7, 2007.

14 Responses to “is that an ipod in your sari…”

  1. Guess you are right, it looks odd. At the same time here in India the urban young are refusing to wear sarees precisely because they are so inconvinient. Today women have to do things like jump on trains and buses, drive, or just move around a lot and so a sari can be a pain. I too avoid wearing a saree and for a person of my generation it raises eyebrows at times. If I could get a sari that is about ankle length, with pockets and some way that would make handling the pallav easy, I might go for it. :) but no, I guess I am joking. Let the sari retain its sanctity. There are other modes of dress that give me this freedom.

  2. Saris are great.
    I actually think the pocket is pretty cool. You can always have traditional saris for formal wear, but for your young hip girl about town, a pocket is kind of essential if you want to avoid bags that just ruin the lines of the fabric darling…
    Pockets are good. For instance, one could carry a handy portion sized jar of horseradish. You never know when you might need one.

  3. Nita –

    I am glad that I am not the only one who thought that it looked odd. I tend to wear very light fabrics like georgette, chiffon and lightweight silks. Once I get past putting it on, I move around fairly well. But I imagine hopping around a large crowded city on public transit could be a bit annoying with all the fabric. I will have to wear one the next time I am in New York and see what it is like.

    darkentries –

    “a pocket is kind of essential if you want to avoid bags that just ruin the lines of the fabric darling…”

    The fat that you know the phrase

    “ruin the lines of the fabric”

    made me feel all warm and gooey inside.

    Luckily you then said, “horseradish”

    which erased the necessity of a cold shower.

    You are so thorough.

  4. I know what you mean about not feeling that something is right when you look at it I do the same thing when I am looking at peoples cars. i just wish I had my tool box with me and I could rip off the stuff that people have done to it and make it seem right sometimes.

  5. Benji –

    Welcome. You are so right, especially those awful wheel covers with the extravagant ‘spinners’. I don’t know what it is about those that look ‘wrong’ to me, but they do.

    So, ipod pockets and spinners. There we go.

  6. Interesting. I hadn’t or haven’t seen this yet or before. We have quite a large population of East Indian/South Asian population where I live and the heart of their shopping district is very close to where I live (or well…one of the largest?) I kind of bleeds a bit over to the west. My city is kind of funky but no matter–major ethnicity all over the place. I should try and head down and see if any of the saris they are selling have this accoutrement.

    I would never wear one even though I am half Pakistani (did you know that dear?) I have written the story on my blog but you’d have to dig for it–or just do a search, I suppose, now.

    Anyway, in that area, I did buy the basic “pyjama” as you would call them in English…a lot of men wear them but some women do as well or at least in Indian/South Asian countries. Super duper baggy pants with a drawstring and a long tunic with embroidery but very simple.

    I remember talking to the woman in the store when I purchased them. I asked if she thought it was strange that I was buying them as a woman as I never saw women wearing them here and she said, “Oh no! I used to wear them in University all the time!” I was like…yeah!

    Unfortunately, I’ve only ever worn them once. Sad…

  7. Oh dear…population…population…I’m stuttering again.

  8. I read the Pakistan story, craziness. I think we already had a discussion about our parents in their youth – nutty. I have seen the pyjama things around and they look comfy. But I am not one for pants. I think I might have one pair.

    But again, they do look darn comfy.

  9. This does look very weird. Like Nita pointed out, our generation doesn’t use the sari except for ‘occasions’.

    Being a male who has never worn a sari (and doesn’t know a lot about the innumerable no. of ways in which it is worn either), I am wondering how easy or difficult it would be to position the iPod pocket at the right place as you go about winding the sari around yourself? Wouldn’t it land up in different places for women of different waist sizes? Or am I being stupid? Probably.

  10. Mahendra –

    No, you have a point. I thought the same thing. A sari is, basically, a big rectangle. You could, with some untraditional folding, get the pocket in the right spot on a larger person. But the end result would look a little different than the picture.

    I do wish that they were more wearable though. I find them beautiful and I feel beautiful when I have one on. But, as I said before, I live a rather sheltered life. So I do not need to do the things Nita was talking about above.

    Still, I love seeing women walking around in the beautiful colors. I feel kind of bad because I ended up buying a beautiful red wedding sari. Luckily I live in the states and no one will notice that it is, in fact, a wedding sari. It feels kind of like sacrilege, but it was soooooo gorgeous. I could not help myself.

  11. Possibly it is a Sari equivalent of a clip on tie.

    Anyone else slightly worried about the vampire teeth on the girl?

  12. you know I did not look at her teeth, I was too distracted by the ipod pocket. But you are right, they are rather scary, poor thing. Hopefully it is just the lighting and camera angle.

  13. If an ipod pocket disturbed you, will till you see these
    http://krishashok.wordpress.com/2007/09/02/saree-ya-thavaraa/

  14. darkentries,

    I live in nyc and wear saris all the time, even in the winter. (so much in fact that I consider them my “normal clothes”) Gettoing around the subway isn’t a hassle at at all. You get ots of stares but maybe that’s just me because I’m not racially indian. lol. It usually brings a smile to indian and pakistani immigrants faces to see a little familiarity from home. At times I even wore my sari out at happy hour and I swear more guys try to get my number than when I’m wearing western clubbing clothes. Ironic nuh!

Leave a Reply

 
